Philippians 1:1

So, why Philippians? Its my favorite book and I think that it will be good for me to walk through it again and see what can be gained from Gods word. I may go fast and take big chunks, or I may go slower and only do a verse or two a day, depending on what I feel lead to do. I think that this is also a way to get out my thoughts on things and to really ponder Scripture instead of just merely passing it by.

Philippians 1

1 Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus

This seems like a fairly small piece of writing here, but within this verse is a plethora of wisdom. The first thing that seems to stick out to me is “Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus”. My first reaction was like wow, they can call themselves servants of Christ Jesus…am I a servant of Christ? Which leads me to want to know what servant really means in this context. In the NAS it states that they are “bond-servants”. This is what I found, courtesy of Crosswalk.com…

Bond-servant/servant: From the Greek word diakonoß- transliterated Diakonos. This can have a number of meanings including:

-one who executes the commands of another, esp. of a master, a servant, attendant, minister

-the servant of a king

-a deacon, one who, by virtue of the office assigned to him by the church, cares for the poor and has charge of and distributes the money collected for their use

-waiter, one who serves food and drink

So, the servant in this sense is executing the commands of another. They are bound to Christs commands, his attendant…it also says of Christ that, “but made himself nothing, taking the very nature, of a servant, being made in human likeness.” (Phil 2:7). Not only are we to be servants to Christs commands, he also became a servant to us. What an interesting thought. We are his bond-servant as he was ours. hmm.

Leave a Reply

