Happy August!!

It seems to be the end of the summer. It is finally getting hot here….

Not a whole lot new going on here. I got my books for school and I’m ready to go..

So, no one really preached on Sunday. Chuck was there, and he spoke a little bit. It was interesting. It was supposed to be a worship service of sorts, which was great. Amen! And we walked through a Psalm…Psalm 77… It is by Asaph:

I cried out to God for help;
I cried out to God to hear me.

When I was in distress, I sought the Lord;
at night I stretched out untiring hands
and my soul refused to be comforted.

I remembered you, O God, and I groaned;
I mused, and my spirit grew faint.
Selah

You kept my eyes from closing;
I was too troubled to speak.

I thought about the former days,
the years of long ago;

I remembered my songs in the night.
My heart mused and my spirit inquired:

“Will the Lord reject forever?
Will he never show his favor again?

Has his unfailing love vanished forever?
Has his promise failed for all time?

Has God forgotten to be merciful?
Has he in anger withheld his compassion?”
Selah

Then I thought, “To this I will appeal:
the years of the right hand of the Most High.”

I will remember the deeds of the LORD;
yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.

I will meditate on all your works
and consider all your mighty deeds.

Your ways, O God, are holy.
What god is so great as our God?

You are the God who performs miracles;
you display your power among the peoples.

With your mighty arm you redeemed your people,
the descendants of Jacob and Joseph.
Selah

The waters saw you, O God,
the waters saw you and writhed;
the very depths were convulsed.

The clouds poured down water,
the skies resounded with thunder;
your arrows flashed back and forth.

Your thunder was heard in the whirlwind,
your lightning lit up the world;
the earth trembled and quaked.

Your path led through the sea,
your way through the mighty waters,
though your footprints were not seen.

You led your people like a flock
by the hand of Moses and Aaron.

What we did was walk through this psalm. Asaph shows us a way to express our feelings truthfully to God. He cries out and it was like God wasn’t even there. He prayed continually and it seemed his prayers weren’t answered. What it came down to in the end was that he remembered the things that God had done in the past, things that proved God was faithful and that he works for the good of those he loves. I haven’t thought about this at all recently. I think that we (and I myself really) have a hard time seeing past the moment. When you are caught up in something that really wrecks your feelings and has strong intense emotions attached to it, it is often hard to see past those. Been there. So has Asaph. But the good thing is that he is working for us and that he really is faithful. He has proven himself faithful many times, over and over again. Why do we think that this time will be any different?? Just thoughts… I don’t know if I can successfully do that all the time, but its a good reminder. God is good 🙂

 

Hotels in Norfolk

Leave a Reply

