Revelation Continued

Welcome to today!!

I know that I seem to have written a lot about the book of Revelation. It is a book that I have been caught up in for months. For a class, we decided that it would be great to memorize 20 consecutive verses (because it had to do with the class). We then proceeded to memorize all of chapters 1-3. With PUNCTUATION! Good grief, yes, how much. So, after this class was over, Praise God, I decided that since I know the first three chapters mind as well continue on. So now I am up to chapter 5. I almost have that down, but it still needs some work.

Now that I have explained why I have been so caught up in it, heres what I was thinking about today. As I was reading chapter 5 and trying to remember in which order “glory, honor, praise” (or was it “honor, praise, glory”?) that would was supposed to go in, I took a second to think. I realized that throughout chapter 4 and 5 we get a real good view of Gods throne and what exactly was going on. In the beginning of chapter 4 we learn that a) there is a throne with someone seated on it (vs.2) b) encircling the throne was a rainbow resembling an emerald (vs. 3) c) there were 24 other thrones and seated on them were 24 elders (vs. 4) d) from the throne came lightening and thunder (vs.5a), e) seven lamps were blazing (vs.5b)f) a sea of glass clear as crystal was in front of it. (vs.6a)

Stop there. Those were defined in just the first 6 verses of this chapter. At this point, it became picturesque in my mind of what this may look like:

I just am in awe looking at this photo and replaying the verses in my head. The verse in 1 Timothy 6:15-16:
“God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone is immortal and hwo lives in unapproachable light, whom no one has seen or can see.” And I look at the light in this picture and I think I would just be flat on my face. Then I realized that that was John’s first reaction as well. In chapter 1 of Revelation he states “When I saw him I fell at his feet as though dead (1: 17)” What a glorious picture this paints of the Lord’s throne room.

Chapter 4 goes on to say that there were four living creatures with 6 wings, covered in eyes in front and back even under his wings. The first creature was like a lion, the second like an ox, the third had a face like a man and the fourth was like a flying eagle. These things seem scary and weird. I don’t normally hang out with lions or oxen nor do they normally have 6 wings and fly. Why would God have them in his throne room?

 

These pictures offer a wonderful representation of what John saw. I think I am going to stop there for now and move on to chapter 5 next time.

I have a question:
In Revelation 4 it states “5 From the throne came flashes of lightning, rumblings and peals of thunder. Before the throne, seven lamps were blazing. These are the seven spirits of God.”

In Revelation 5 it states “6 Then I saw a Lamb, looking as if it had been slain, standing in the center of the throne, encircled by the four living creatures and the elders. He had seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven spirits of God sent out into all the earth. It gets better.

Revelation 1 states “20 The seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands are the seven churches.

So my question is: what are the lampstands: the churches or the seven spirits of god?And then: What are the seven spirits of god? The lampstands or the Lamb with the seven horns and seven eyes?

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

